NZCS Scholarship and Award Winners for 2019

back to overview

NZCS Scholarship and Award Winners for 2019

We are excited to announce the NZCS scholarship and awards winners for 2019!

Each year the society offers a range of scholarships and awards to our members and the NZ coastal community. We offer student research scholarships for both Masters and PhD students, as well a number of excellence awards for undergraduate students. Earlier this year University of Waikato PhD student Danielle Bertram received the NZCS ‘Coasts and Ports’ Student Award, allowing her to attend the Australasian Coasts and Ports conference in Hobart, Australia. Danielle presented some of her research which is aimed at providing broad-based methods on how to deliver that wave energy economically and sustainably.

In addition to our student scholarships and awards we also provide support to coastal practitioners through our Professional Development Award and the recently introduced Terry Healy Project Award. This prestigious award acknowledges the achievement of a project which has made a significant contribution to New Zealand's coastal and marine environment. The society has received many high calibre applications to consider for this award since its debut in 2017. This year, the winning Terry Healy project was Project Reef Life: South Taranaki.  The award was presented to Karen Pratt (project lead) by NZCS chair Paul Klinac at the annual conference in Invercargill, alongside our conference awards for best oral presentation, best student presentation and best poster.

Learn more about the Terry Healy Project Award, and all the other awards and scholarships on offer here. The 2019 winners are listed below, and can also be found on our awards page. 


Main award

Chairman Paul Klinac presenting the Terry Healy award for 2019 at the Invercargill conference


2019 Scholarship and Award recipients:

Undergraduate Excellence Awards

Ben McKibbin: University of Canterbury; Hannah van Waelsden: University of Canterbury; Kara Jurgens: University of Otago; Kyla Shernbanowski: Southern Institute of Technology; Catherine Gu: University of Auckland; Kimberley D'Arcy: University of Auckland; Ngāpera Keegan: University of Waikato.


Student Research Scholarships

PhD - Raphael Krier-Mariani: New approach to define wave transformation on rocky shore platform. University of Otago.

Masters - Maddy Glover: Mapping of current and historic extent of Macrocystis pyrifera along southern coastal Otago. University of Otago.


Maori & Pacific Island Research Scholarship

Masters - Will Pinfold: Quantifying an invasive seaweed Undaria pinnatifida using underwater videography. University of Otago.


Coasts and Ports Student Award

Danielle Bertram: Geospatial Multi-Criteria Analysis for Site Selection of Wave Energy Farms in New Zealand. University of Waikato.


Professional Development Award

Deirdre Hart: Session coordination and attendance at the ICS in Seville plus journal publishing fee.

Josie Crawshaw: Attendance at the CERF 25th Biennial Conference in Mobile, Alabama USA.


Terry Healy Award

Project Reef Life: South Taranaki